Costa Rica Hot Springs ToursAn Independent Guide Book a Hot Springs Day

Guachipelín Volcano Combo Tour: Zipline, River Tubing and Hot Springs

4.8/5 1,569 Viator reviews From $145 per person8-12 hoursFree cancellation 24h

Sold and operated by Native's Way Costa Rica. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you.

This Guachipelín volcano combo tour packs a zipline course, river tubing, a buffet lunch and a soak at the Río Negro Hot Springs into one long day on the slopes of Rincón de la Vieja. It is one of the most reviewed listings among the Costa Rica hot springs tours on this site, with a 4.8 rating from 1,569 reviews. The price is $145 per person and pickup from the main beach towns and Liberia is included, which makes the logistics simple. The trade-off is that the springs are the last stop of a physically active day, not the main event. This page breaks down the money, the schedule and the exclusions so you can decide if it fits, or if a springs-first listing suits you better, and it sits alongside hot springs tours in Costa Rica.

Travelers river tubing near volcanic hot springs on a Guachipelin volcano hot springs tour in Rincon de la Vieja, Costa Rica
4.8★1,569 reviews
$145per person
8-12 hoursduration
Freecancellation 24h
Check Availability

About This Tour

Native's Way Costa Rica runs this shared combo from the Guanacaste beach towns up to Hacienda Guachipelín near Curubandé. The morning is a zipline course with 8 cables and 18 platforms, plus a hanging bridge and an optional rappel and Tarzan swing. Then comes more than 5 kilometers of tubing down the Río Negro, a full buffet lunch, and a late visit to the Río Negro Hot Springs, ten riverbank pools heated by the volcano, with a volcanic mud bath.

The listing gives no fixed time in the springs. They are the final stop of a day that runs 8 to 12 hours door to door depending on where you sleep, so the soak can be short if your pickup was early and your dropoff is far. Groups are shared, up to 20 travelers, and the tour runs rain or shine.

Price
$145 per person, including all fees and taxes for the activities and entry.
Day length
8 to 12 hours total including transport, roughly 12 hours for far pickups.
The water
Ten natural riverbank pools at Río Negro Hot Springs heated by Rincón de la Vieja, plus a volcanic mud bath, reached on a forest path.
Included
Round-trip air-conditioned minivan from listed areas, buffet lunch, bottled water, professional guide, zipline, tubing and springs entry. Towels are not listed as included.
Time in the water
Not stated separately. The springs are the last stop after the zipline, tubing and lunch.
Cancellation
Full refund if you cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure time.
Quick answer The short answer

This $145 per person combo runs 8 to 12 hours, with pickup from Tamarindo, Conchal, Flamingo, the RIU hotels, Playas del Coco, Playa Hermosa and Liberia included in the price. The gated Papagayo resorts and the Waldorf Astoria pay a $70 transport fee per booking, and Hacienda Pinilla / JW Marriott pay $50 per booking, both billed separately. You get an 8-cable zipline, 5 kilometers of Río Negro tubing, a buffet lunch and the ten-pool Río Negro Hot Springs with a mud bath.

Key takeaways

  • The springs are the final stop of a long active day, so travellers who want a relaxed soak should look at the Río Negro day pass instead.
  • Budget the extras: a $5 locker deposit at the tour base, gratuities, and the $70 or $50 resort pickup fee if it applies to your hotel.
  • Kids aged 4 to 7 can do everything except tubing, and one adult must stay behind with them during that segment.
  • Compare it with other hot springs tours in Costa Rica before you commit to a 12-hour day.

What the Price Actually Covers

The headline is $145 per person, but the day's real cost depends on where you sleep and what you rent on site. The table below comes from the operator's own listing.

The Money, Line by Line

Everything activity-related sits inside the $145: the zipline course, the tubing run, the springs and mud bath entry, lunch, bottled water and the minivan from the listed pickup zones. The gaps are transport from four gated resorts, gratuities, and small on-site costs. Lockers at the tour base take a $5 deposit, refundable when you return the key, or you can leave your things in the van. A professional photo service is available for an extra fee that the listing does not state.

If your hotel sits inside the Papagayo gates or at Pinilla, get the surcharge confirmed in writing before you book, because it is billed separately from the tour price. For a cheaper springs-only visit to the same venue, the Rio Negro Hot Springs and Oropendola Waterfall combo runs $76 self-guided over 5 hours.

LineIn the priceNotes
Zipline, tubing and springs entryYesAll fees and taxes included
Buffet lunch and bottled waterYesSalad bar, entrees, dessert, fresh juice, coffee, tea. Dietary restrictions accommodated
Hotel pickup, listed zonesYesTamarindo, Langosta, Grande, Conchal, Flamingo, Potrero, RIU, Ocotal, Coco, Hermosa, Liberia
Papagayo resorts and Waldorf Astoria pickupNo$70 per booking, billed separately
Pinilla / JW Marriott pickupNo$50 per booking, billed separately
LockersNo$5 deposit at the tour base, or leave belongings in the van
Gratuities and photosNoTips excluded, photo service costs extra

Sources: Río Negro Hot Springs, Hacienda Guachipelín, Hacienda Orosi and Rincón de la Vieja Volcano on Wikipedia.

Two travellers coated in drying volcanic mud beside a warm pool on a Costa Rica hot springs tour at Rincón de la Vieja

What the Day Is Really Like

The listing does not print a minute-by-minute schedule, but it does state pickup windows by area, a fixed self-drive meeting time and the order of activities.

Early Start, Then the Canyon

Vans collect travellers between 6:00am and 8:30am depending on the zone: Pinilla and the JW Marriott at 6:00am, Tamarindo and Langosta at 6:30am, Conchal and the RIU main gate at 6:45am, Playas del Coco at 7:20am, the Papagayo gates and Hermosa at 7:20am to 7:30am, and Liberia at 8:30am. The operator sends an official time the day before and asks you to be outside 10 minutes early. Self-drivers meet at the Hacienda Guachipelín Adventure Park at 9:00am.

The activity order is fixed: zipline first, with 8 cables, 18 platforms and a hanging bridge into a steep canyon, plus an optional rappel and Tarzan swing. Then the tubing run, more than 5 kilometers of Río Negro rapids in individual tubes. Lunch follows, a buffet with salad bar, several entrees and sides, a dessert bar, fresh juice, coffee and tea. The Río Negro Hot Springs and mud bath come last, ten pools on the riverbank heated naturally by the volcano, wrapped in tropical dry forest. From there it is a long van ride home, which is why the total can reach about 12 hours including transport.

How Much of That Is Soaking

The listing does not state a separate time in the springs, so plan for the soak being the shortest segment of the day. The venue itself sells 1.5-hour timed entries on its own site, which gives a sense of the scale, but this tour does not publish its own limit. If a long unhurried soak is the point of your trip, a springs-first listing such as the volcano hike, waterfall swim and hot springs combo or the self-guided Río Negro day pass puts the warm water earlier or leaves it open-ended.

Who This Tour Rules Out

The operator states several hard limits. Read them before booking, because there are no refunds for arriving unfit for the activities.

Health, Age and Size Limits

The listing is explicit: not recommended for travellers with poor cardiovascular health, spinal injuries, or pregnant travellers, and moderate physical fitness is required. The tubing weight limit is 300 lbs. The minimum age for tubing is 8, and ability depends on the child's size and the river's strength that day. Children aged 4 to 7 can join every other activity but must have one adult stay behind with them during the tubing portion, which effectively splits your group for that hour.

If any of that rules your group out, a calmer day still gets you into warm water. The Rincón Thermals nature day pass covers springs, mud bath, waterfall and trails with no river rapids, and the Sensoria thermal pools tour is a guided walk to three named pools with a minimum age of 5.

A bubbling mud pot at Rincón de la Vieja Volcano, where Costa Rica hot springs tours take their mud baths

A mud pot bursting at Rincón de la Vieja Volcano. Photo: Paul Harrison, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

What to Settle Before You Book

Three things cause most of the friction on this listing: resort surcharges, the pickup wait and what to bring. All are fixable in advance.

Confirm the Surcharge in Writing

Cancellation is straightforward: cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure for a full refund, and the operator cancels free if weather turns bad. The tour runs rain or shine, so do not expect a weather refund for ordinary rain. Before paying, message the seller to confirm in writing your hotel name, your official pickup time, and if your hotel carries the $70 or $50 per-booking transport fee, since the Papagayo gates, the Waldorf Astoria, Pinilla and the JW Marriott are billed separately.

Pack for Three Activities

The listing asks for a bathing suit, closed-toed shoes that can get wet for tubing, comfortable shorts or pants for the zipline harness, sandals for the springs, rain gear or a waterproof bag, sunscreen, insect repellent, a change of clothes, a camera, a refillable water bottle and a towel. Towels are not named among the inclusions, so bring your own rather than assuming one. Skip the locker and leave valuables in the van if you want to avoid the $5 deposit handling.

Getting There from Your Bed

If you take the transport option, be outside your hotel or condo 10 minutes before your stated window, which falls between 6:00am and 8:30am depending on zone. The RIU pickups happen at the main security gate, not the lobby, and several Hermosa hotels are collected at their main gates too. Self-drivers meet the guide at 9:00am at the Hacienda Guachipelín Adventure Park near Curubandé.

A private-transport option exists, but the park activities themselves cannot be booked as private.

Hour by Hour

Clock times come from the operator's own pickup schedule and the fixed self-drive meeting time. The activity segments themselves carry no stated times.

  1. 6:00am

    Earliest pickups

    Hacienda Pinilla and the JW Marriott are collected at 6:00am, with a $50 per booking transport fee billed separately.

  2. 6:30am

    Tamarindo and the northern beaches

    Langosta, Tamarindo, Playa Grande, Flamingo and Potrero pickups at 6:30am, all included in the tour price.

  3. 6:45am

    Conchal and the RIU gate

    Conchal, Brasilito and the RIU main security gate, not the lobby, at 6:45am.

  4. 7:20am

    Coco, Ocotal and the Papagayo gates

    Playas del Coco at 7:20am, and Andaz, Four Seasons and Planet Hollywood at their main gate at 7:20am with a $70 per booking fee. The Waldorf Astoria follows at 7:30am with the same fee.

  5. 8:30am

    Liberia pickup

    Liberia travellers meet at the Peri Supermarket at the main Liberia intersection at 8:30am.

  6. 9:00am

    Self-drive arrival and zipline

    Self-drivers meet the guide at the Hacienda Guachipelín Adventure Park at 9:00am. The zipline course runs 8 cables across 18 platforms with a hanging bridge, plus an optional rappel and Tarzan swing.

  7. River tubing

    More than 5 kilometers of Río Negro rapids in individual tubes. Children aged 4 to 7 sit this out and one adult stays with them.

  8. Lunch, then the springs

    A buffet lunch with salad bar, entrees, dessert bar, fresh juice, coffee and tea, then the van drives you to the Río Negro Hot Springs for ten volcanic-heated pools and a mud bath before the ride home.

Pros and Cons

An honest read of where this listing earns its 4.8 rating and where it asks you to compromise.

What we genuinely like

  • Pickup from ten Guanacaste zones and Liberia is inside the $145, so the logistics are handled
  • Three activities plus lunch in one day: 8-cable zipline, 5 km of tubing, buffet, ten-pool springs and mud bath
  • Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, and free cancellation by the operator in bad weather
  • The most-reviewed listing in this comparison, with 4.8 across 1,569 reviews

The honest downsides

  • The hot springs are the last stop of an 8 to 12 hour day, and no time limit or minimum soak is stated
  • Four gated resorts pay a $70 per booking transport fee and Pinilla / JW Marriott pay $50, billed separately from the tour price
  • Lockers take a $5 deposit, towels are not listed as included, and gratuities and the photo service cost extra
  • Children 4 to 7 cannot tube, so one adult from your group sits out that segment

Who it's NOT for: Travellers who want the springs as the main event, pregnant travellers, anyone with spinal or cardiovascular issues, and groups with children under 8 who all want to tube together should book a calmer listing.

Questions About This Tour

How much does the Guachipelín volcano combo tour cost?

$145 per person, covering the zipline, tubing, springs and mud bath entry, lunch, bottled water and transport from the listed zones. Four gated resorts pay a $70 per booking transport surcharge and Pinilla / JW Marriott pay $50, billed separately. See how it sits among other Costa Rica hot springs tours.

How long is the day, and how long do I get in the hot springs?

The tour runs 8 to 12 hours including transport, roughly 12 hours from the far pickup zones. The listing states no separate time for the springs, which come last after the zipline, tubing and lunch. For a springs-focused visit to the same venue, compare the Río Negro day pass.

Is hotel pickup included from my hotel?

Pickup is included from Tamarindo, Langosta, Grande, Conchal, Flamingo, Potrero, the RIU hotels, Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Playa Hermosa and Liberia, with windows from 6:00am to 8:30am confirmed the day before. Andaz, Four Seasons, Planet Hollywood and the Waldorf Astoria pay $70 per booking, Pinilla and the JW Marriott $50. A self-drive option meets at the Adventure Park at 9:00am.

Can young children join the tubing?

No. The minimum age for tubing is 8, and ability depends on the child's size and the river that day. Children aged 4 to 7 can do the zipline, lunch and springs, but one adult must stay behind with them during the tubing portion. The Rincón Thermals nature day pass is a calmer full-family alternative.

What is not included in the price?

Transport from the Waldorf Astoria, Andaz, Four Seasons, Planet Hollywood, Catalinas and Dreams Las Mareas, the JW Marriott / Pinilla pickup fee, gratuities, the $5 locker deposit and the photo service. A towel is not listed among the inclusions, so bring one. Health limits and the full exclusion list are covered in the who this tour rules out section.

What happens if it rains?

The operator runs the tour rain or shine, and cancels free of charge only if the operator itself calls off the activity. Your own cancellation is free up to 24 hours before the scheduled departure for a full refund. Weather patterns for the region are covered in the Guanacaste hot springs guide.

Is there a weight or fitness limit?

Yes, the tubing weight limit is 300 lbs, and the listing requires at least moderate physical fitness. It is not recommended for travellers with poor cardiovascular health, spinal injuries or pregnant travellers. If that rules you out, the volcano hike, waterfall swim and hot springs combo is the operator's other Rincón de la Vieja day, and the Sensoria thermal pools tour is a gentler guided walk.

If a zipline, a river and a volcanic mud bath in one $145 day sounds like your kind of Guanacaste, lock in a date with free 24-hour cancellation.

Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, and the operator cancels free in bad weather.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $145 per person Book a Hot Springs Day